I got locked in a park

Okay, so two posts in one day… but I had way too much excitement today not to share.

So, this morning, I did a Google search on parks and gardens in my area of Vienna, and I came across one very nearby at the School of Floristik. My weather app predicted the warmest, sunniest weather that we’ve had here thus far, so I decided today would be a great time to get some real fresh air.

When I arrived at the park, I was not disappointed. The garden was expansive, and it was laid out in various sections labeled as “countries;” there was an American section of the garden, a British section, a Japanese section, and so on. I had such a wonderful time. At about 3 pm, I heard some American students leaving the school, but instead of the sudden absence of people triggering me in any way, I simply took note of the familiar accents wafting away as the students left, then I smiled and went about my day.

I took pictures for about an hour. I read for another hour (on a different note, I’m reading The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt — amazing). At around 5:00, I decided maybe it was time to pack up my things and head home.

As I approached the entrance/exit, the first thing I noticed were the metal gates barring me from the street. They were taller than I am, and didn’t have any places to put your feet so someone like I could climb over and escape.

“Okay,” I thought to myself. “Don’t panic. I saw another exit in the far side of the garden.” I remembered how my pre-paid phone plan had just run out of minutes yesterday, so I couldn’t call or text anyone for help if I needed it. I felt my heartbeat quicken a little as I cut corners to reach the exit quickly.

Another metal gate stared me down.

Scheisse…”

But still not too worried. I had some other options.

I tried all corners of the garden. All locked and impossible to leave. Austrians really do not like people to enter their public parks when no employees are there.

I ran up to the school building and knocked on every window. No answer. I took notice of the signs that read “Achtung! Überwachungskameras” (Warning! Security cameras).

“Okay, kein Problem. There’s a neighborhood right across the street. Next time someone comes into their front garden, I’ll ask ‘Haben Sie eine Leiter?’ (“Do you have a ladder?”) After the longest five minutes of my life, still, I had seen no one.

“I’ve just got to find a way to climb over this fence.”

With my adrenaline rushing, I reached my hands up to the top of the gate, took a lunge back, then jumped as high as I could. I pushed myself up with my arms (I’m heavier than I thought), swung my leg over, straddled the fence, then swung the rest of myself over the fence. I landed directly in front of a middle-aged couple passing on the street (“Where were you five minutes ago?” I wanted to ask.) The husband put his arm around his wife as they averted their eyes away from me like I was a criminal who had just done something I wasn’t supposed to do. I smiled at them, dusted off my pants, and walked away.

I think the Überwachungskameras caught some pretty entertaining stuff today.

Also, thank God for yoga!

In other news, I got some pretty nice pics!

IMG_3061 IMG_3069 IMG_3072 IMG_3111 IMG_3121 IMG_3134 IMG_3153 IMG_3156 IMG_3158

3 thoughts on “I got locked in a park

Leave a Reply

